Twitch, 100 Thieves, Boom TV and KEEMSTAR announce CoD: Warzone tournaments

Twitch, 100 Thieves, Boom TV and KEEMSTAR announce CoD: Warzone tournaments

Twitch, 100 Thieves, BoomTV and KEEMSTAR have all announced they will be hosting their own online tournament for CoD: Warzone, with huge prize pools and some prominent esports names in attendance.

 

Only a week after its release, Call of Duty: Warzone quickly became one of the most popular games on the market and possibly the most popular battle royale game of this month. It's unique and exciting gameplay, which combined a battle royale game mode with everyone's favourite Call of Duty franchise proved to be a massive success, with thousands upon thousands of players logging into the game every day to enjoy some fast-paced action on Verdansk, be it fighting for survival in a Battle Royale game mode or running around the map, completing tasks, eliminating and plundering other players in a bid to claim the biggest bounty before the clock runs out.

Perhaps, the coronavirus outbreak in part helped CoD: Warzone amass such a massive following, given that most people tend to stay at home and do what they can to entertain themselves. And while the outbreak surely helped many games grow in popularity over the last few weeks, it's safe to say that the game by itself would be just as successful otherwise.

In an effort to ride the hype train and take advantage of the popularity boom Warzone is experiencing, several CoD: Warzone competitions have been announced, which includes four tournaments hosted by 100 Thieves, BoomTV, Keemstar and Twitch.

Warzone Wednesdays - Keemstar 

Keemstar, a prominent YouTube personality, who is mostly known for his Drama Alert series, announced he will host weekly Warzone tournaments every Wednesday, which will be the successors to his previous projects; Friday Fortnite and Minecraft Mondays. Keemstar made the announcement public on Tuesday, with a short video he posted on his official Twitter channel.

As promised, Warzone Wednesdays will feature some of the biggest streamers, online entertainers, athletes, rappers competing for US $20,000 prize pools, starting on Wednesday, March 25.

Warzone Wednesdays will be the first tournament Keemstar will host since he has decided to put his previous projects on hold until October, due to hacker attacks, which disrupted the said events and prevented any competitive integrity to be established.

It remains to be seen what kind of format Warzone Wednesdays will use, however, it's very likely it will follow that of Fortnite events, meaning we might see a trios tournament, where teams will compete for the highest placement while getting the most eliminations in the game.

The first four participants that were announced to compete in Warzone Wednesdays are Nickmercs, TeePee, Avxry and Classify.

Warzone From Home - 100 Thieves

The prominent North American esports organisation, 100 Thieves followed with the announcement of their own Warzone tournament, dubbed Warzone From Home, which will begin on Friday, March 20, featuring 16 teams who will compete for $100,000 prize pool.

As announced by the esports organisation, Warzone From Home will dedicate half of its prize pool to charities chosen by the winners of the tournament, while the other half will be distributed using Cash App, which will also be the sponsor of the tournament.

Unlike Keemstar, who announced the first four competitors for his event, 100 Thieves have yet to unveil any teams nor personalities, who will battle it out on Verdansk map, however, with a massive stack of cash on the table, we can be sure many individuals will be eager to join the tournament.

Code Green - BoomTV 

Boom TV, who host the Code Red Call of Duty tournaments joined in the hype and announced a Warzone competition, slated to take off on Thursday, March 19. 

The tournament will be dubbed as Code Green and will also be sponsored by Cash App, featuring $50,000 prize pool for participants, with additional $20,000 which will be awarded to viewers of the streams during the broadcast.

The first team of players, who have been announced to compete at the Code Greem are Ninja, summit1g and DrLupo, with more participants set to be unveiled shortly.

Twitch Rivals: Warzone - Twitch

Twitch Rivals: Warzone is set to be divided into three separate tournaments; for Europe, North America and Taiwan. Each tournament will feature 90 invited streamers, with teams competing in two featured game modes over two days.

The schedule for each region is as follows:

Europe:

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - Day One (Plunder)

Player Check-In Opens: 12:00 PM PST | 3:00 PM EST

Broadcast Begins: 1:00 PM PST | 4:00 PM EST

Thursday, March 26, 2020 - Day Two (Battle Royale)

Player Check-In Opens: 12:00 PM PST | 3:00 PM EST

Broadcast Begins: 1:00 PM PST | 4:00 PM EST 

 

North America:

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - Day One (Plunder)

Player Check-In Opens: 17:00 CET | 8:00 AM PST

Broadcast Begins: 18:00 CET | 9:00 AM PST 

Thursday, March 26, 2020 - Day Two (Battle Royale)

Player Check-In Opens: 17:00 CET | 8:00 AM PST

Broadcast Begins: 18:00 CET | 9:00 AM PST

Taiwan:

Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - Day One (Plunder)

Player Check-In Opens: 18:00 CST | 2:00 AM PST

Broadcast Begins: 19:00 CST | 3:00 AM PST

Thursday, March 26, 2020 - Day Two (Battle Royale)

Player Check-In Opens: 18:00 CST | 2:00 AM PST

Broadcast Begins: 19:00 CST | 3:00 AM PST

 

The tournament will be PC only, with each game mode featuring its own set of rules that will be in place to determine which teams will get to claim the largest slice of $100,000 in the prize pool. Full rules, format and list of participants can be found here: EUROPE, NORTH AMERICA, TAIWAN.

Written by KrajnikT

Tit Krajnik (KrajnikT) is an esports writer for onlineesports.com, where he reports news, features and writes other content related to the players, teams, industry and the esports scene as a whole.

He has previously worked as a news and betting-related articles writer in the "traditional" sports scene but later opted to turn his attention to esports, where he managed to combine his love for video games and the growing esports industry with his work.

Krajnik has started his journey as an esports writer by covering Counter-Strike: Global Offensive and League of Legends, which he also played since its launch, but later broaden his skill-set to include other major esports titles including Dota 2, Fortnite, Apex Legends, Overwatch, Rainbow 6 Siege and Call of Duty.

Visit KrajnikT on Twitter

Betway UK Esports image banners